I should be

I should be doing homework but I’m blogging, obviously. My son brought the headcold’s home from school and it looks like out of the 3 other people in this house – I got it! I had errands to run this morning and by the time I got back – coupled with the fact that I need to leave again around 1:45, I just figured that it would be more cathartic to waste time doing pointless things like surf the web and check emails. I was going to watch a movie on Netflix, but just couldn’t muster the energy to pick one.

Jeanne left me a long and thoughtful comment on one of my most recent posts – dealing with the hysterectomy and my fustration with the Dr. and her NP. I want to thank Jeanne for that. It did get me thinking. When I had went in for that initial cyst-hurts-me visit I hadn’t known my Endocrinologist had cleared me for surgery! Seeing as I had made the decision to have this thing done back in MARCH, and all this other mess had happened over the summer, I had decided to try and hold onto my ovaries as long as possible – as long as they are healthy anyway. I didn’t know I would begin having problems with them again so soon, either. But maybe it’s a godsend that Dr. wants to have a consult with me about this surgery. Maybe there’s a possibility I can just have the bad ovary (the left one, cyst maker covered in endo) removed and have whatever endo they find excised off while they are in there. And if she can’t do this, maybe she can point me to someone who can. One of my concerns with the surgery is menopause. I don’t dread it or anything, cause I know eventually it will happen. But the thought occured to me the other night when I was reading through some of the experiences with hormone therapy – I can’t take hormonal birth control because it triggers terrible migraines. I have the migraines that increase your stroke risk, so keeping them away is the key to treating them. What if I have the same reaction to the hormonal replacement therapy they give me – it’s essentially the same stuff right? I can’t do estrogen!

I’m making a list of concerns and questions for my Dr visit. I want this pain to be gone. I want to be able to not look pregnant – right now I’m wearing my husbands shorts! I’m going in there informed and prepared. And I’m not coming out without some answers, that’s for sure.

3 responses to “I should be

  1. What a week! So, when do you go to the Dr. for your consult? You are in my prayers. These are such difficult decisions. Do your research and make sure you get all your questions and concerns addressed!!! 🙂

  2. Endochick,

    Just a quick note…

    1) My twitter won’t let me log in but I got your twitter message. I know you’re overwhelmed. Hang in there!

    2) My MyBlogLog won’t let me log in either (!) so I figured the best way to contact you was here. (Is there a conspiracy going on between twitter & MyBlogLog to keep me from using them???)

    3) I’m glad you understood where I was coming from on that earlier comment! I know it was kind of harsh in content BUT I tried to word it as “non-offesively” as possible. I’m just concerned about you! With your complicated medical history & your family history, I’m afraid you’d be at higher risk than most for strange post-surgical complications. Again, only you can decide what’s best for your body but I would proceed with caution or way or another.

    Need to run. 2:21 am here and need some shut-eye! 🙂

    Jeanne

  3. Hello! I just wanted to let you know. There is an article in Ladies home journal. About Hysterectomy. I also have been told by my Doctor that this is my last option. I have tried all the others. I found this article interesting. Thought I would share it with you.

Leave a Reply

