Agony

I’m in agony…

Jeanne… maybe you can help me, cause no one else is?

I am still having heart palpitation with warm flushes in my face and crying jags! It’s been over a week now since the surgery and since they didn’t take my ovaries, I’m confused as to why I’m going through this! Is this normal? They messed with my ovaries – removing so many adhesions, could my ovaries be sleeping? disturbed? I’m so confused. I’m also still having discomfort! I’m full of gas pains in my chest and back and shoulder. Took tums, they told me Gas-x. I’ve done the 4 tabs of that I can take today, yet IT’S STILL THERE!!!! It’s been there since 1 ish YESTERDAY!!! OVER 24 HOURS!! I’m so exhausted and I can’t get anything done. It’s really fustrating me.

2 responses to “Agony

  1. Can you leave these questions on the VM at your Dr? They need to get back with you about this!!!! Did they mention anything about the ovary symptoms? I’d be all up in their face until I could talk to the Dr! Also, the gas…I don’t think it should be lasting this long. I can’t imagine…that was the worst thing for me.

    ::Hugs::

    Again, DEMAND these answers from your MD…you had surgery, you have every right to get these answers, and, fast.

  2. Endochick,

    I just now took a glance at your blog where I saw your post — and my name jumped out at me. (I haven’t been keeping up with “endo blog reading” as well as I’d like). I have been overwhelmed with my own blog, my email, the new Facebook endometriosis group (please join us there!), and my own health issues…

    I’m sorry you are having so much trouble!! I just skimmed your more recent post than this one and it sounded like you will get hormones tested and hopefully get some answers about what’s happening.

    I had medication-induced hot flashes several years back and it was terrible! I was dripping with sweat!!! I turned beet red/purple!!! My face was the worst… as you alluded to. It was so much worse than I had ever imagined from the term “hot flashes”. I wouldn’t be surprised if hormone issues could be related to the palpitations. Obviously hormones could be behind the hot flashes… (if, in fact, your hormones are off). Hormones could also explain the crying. From what you posted previously, you sounded disappointed that the doctor left your ovary because you don’t want more cysts/surgery. I suppose the frustration and anxiety you’re feeling about that could be contributing to the crying too. While I have been through medication-induced hot flashes and I’ve heard several endo support group members relate their experiences with menopause (surgical menopause or natural), I have not had a hysterectomy/oophorectomy and can’t speak from personal experience about the issue of hot flashes happening after surgery. So I’m not really sure. I suppose it makes sense that physically manipulating the ovaries might have ‘stirred up trouble’… but that’s pure conjecture on my part!

    If you have significant problems/history with adhesions, here are some ideas of lesser-known treatment methods that could help you if you can find them in your area:

    1) Maya Abdominal Massage
    2) Chi Nei Tsang

    I have never tried either method but I know of women in my endo support group who have found these modalities helpful with various issues (including adhesions).

    Also, physical therapy for pelvic pain (which I have had) might help with adhesions.

    As far as the pain from the carbon dioxide gas used during the laparoscopy to inflate the abdominal area for better visualization of the organs… I know all about that problem! After my first couple of laps (especially the one in 1992 where I was diagnosed with endo), I had TERRIBLE pain in my chest and shoulders. With the first surgery, my doctor hadn’t warned me about this and I was scared to death with the chest pains in particular. I called the office to report this SEVERE pain. They told me “it was normal” and that it was from the gas used during the surgery. (Of course, I had not been told prior to surgery anything about the gas being part of the surgery). Gee… thanks for the heads-up, doc!! I vividly recall that it was terribly painful. I’m actually a bit surprised that you had this happen because I thought that doctors had just about perfected the process of somehow getting the gas to leave the patient’s body following the surgery. I’ve had 6 laparoscopies (and 1 laparotomy). So, I’ve had this gas 6 times and only the first two laps involved this pain. I had less pain with the 2nd lap in 1993 than I had with the 1992 surgery (with a different, more experienced surgeon the 2nd time around).

    One of my doctors told me since then that they had improved the method for getting the gas out after surgery so that it wasn’t such a problem. From what I understand they tilt the surgical table so that the patient’s head is down closer to the floor because gravity can help the gas leave the body this way. (I don’t know what else they do to get the gas out… if anything). I haven’t heard of anyone having this symptom in a long time. Enough of my endo support group members have had laps in recent years that I really thought this type of pain after a lap was a thing of the past because none of them have mentioned this to me. I don’t know if they had it happen and just didn’t talk about it or what. I just haven’t heard of this in awhile. So I’m not sure what the scoop is with that. I’m sorry you had to go through that. It is really awful!!

    I hope that you are feeling better!!!! Hang in there! 🙂

    Jeanne

    P.S. Allison was ‘dead on’ with the notion of DEMANDING answers from your MD!

Leave a Reply

