Thyroid

My results came in from my blood work the other day, I’ve just been so absent minded I forgot to post them.

Everything looked well except my thyroid. This, of course, was something my primary could have tested and is why I am demanding my co-pay back and why I told the nurse coordinator that I wanted to switch my primary.

Apparently I must be over medicated because my numbers went from normal to hyperthryoid. Now when I began treatment it was for hypothyroid! That explains all my symptoms, as well.

They faxed my lab work to my endocrinologist -who wasn’t in the office (of course) – and I still haven’t heard anything! I’m just managing with the symptoms. They reassured me the likelihood of a heart attack is slim because my numbers would have to be much lower (although they are still extremely low!), and the pain has subsided after being there for 4 whole days! I can eat again. So that is nice.

One response to “Thyroid

  1. Diagnosed hypothyroid back in July 08. I am sensitive to iodine
    and have worked very hard over the last 30 years to keep iodine
    out of my diet. Over the years manufactures have stopped
    using iodine in their products.

    Primary Doc wanted to put me on 50mc of med. Went for second
    opion who jumped on me having Hashimitos Disease because I
    didn’t have a goiter. PTO test came back negative. Primary Doc
    decreased med to 25mc. I chose to take 12.5, 1/4 of a 50mc.
    Started last week of Nov.

    My original TSH levels were 4.54, 6.35, 5.43. Acceptable range
    was not over 4.50.

    Doctors tend to start individuals out on a specific dose and
    then adjust accordingly. Find out where your TSH levels, if
    one is not very far over the acceptable range, at least try
    talking to your Doc about starting low. It is better to increase
    then sea-sawing.

    If I read correctly, both hyper and hypothyroid diseases are
    agrivated by iodine consumption. Find out if your thyroid
    immuno system is activated to confirm if you actually have
    a disease.

    Those who have the diseases, the diseases are unfortunately
    progressive. Stay away from all sources of iodine. Read labels,
    look for anything that indicates ocean products, (sea salt,
    sardine, seaweed/kelp, salmon, shrimp, oysters, etc.),added
    iodides (they are disguized in big words starting wiht iodi….),
    and iodized salt. Unknown table salts are usually iodized. Help
    your medication do it’s job.

    The thyroide medications also recommend staying away from iodine.
    If you are hyperthyroid, this makes sense, since the thyroid is
    using to much iodine and going hyper active. If hypothroid, it
    means that not enough iodine is being utilized. One
    needs to think disease related or not disease related.

    Possibly, if not disease related like me, one is not
    consuming enough iodine. One only needs 150mc a day or
    less, depending on their need.

    The easiest would be iodized salt, but who needs the sodium. The
    next easiest would be sea food or fish from the sea. The next
    would be ocean products like seaweed/kelp.

    As silly as this seems considering my sensitivity to iodine,
    I decided to take 1/2 a 150mc tab of kelp each night and watch
    for reactions. No reaction to the iodine in the kelp so far.

    I have noticed that my hands and feet are not as cold as they
    usually are during this time of year.

Leave a Reply

