My letter to Noah Kotch @ The Today Show

This morning I was encouraged to write to Noah Kotch, Senior Producer of the The Today Show by Jeanne over at Jeanne’s Endo Blog. This was done, of course, in the hopes that I can appear on that program to spread positive awareness about endometriosis. My letter will follow below. I am asking if any of you reading this, if you are willing, if you would please write to him as well encouraging him to have me on the program. I don’t think there will be a problem referring to me as Endochick just MAKE SURE you include my FULL blog title and a link to it. I did this in the letter. This way he can connect it all back to the same person.  THANKS!

Letter to Noah Kotch

Dear Mr. Noah Kotch, Senior Producer:

You may not be aware that March is National Endometriosis Awareness Month, but it is. Endometriosis is an insidious pelvic disease that affects an estimated 89 million women world wide, and 5.5 million women in North America alone (Lindsay Fry, Endometriosis Assn, August 2010) . According to the Ohio State University Medical Center, endometriosis is more common than both aids and cancer. There is no cure for endometriosis, and women are left to suffer often in silence with the symptoms of this debilitatingly chronic disease. Doctors shrug women off and tell them they simply have a “bad period” or they get pumped full of hormones before they even get an accurate diagnosis. Doctors are hesitant to perform the surgery – a laparoscopy – to diagnose these women before turning them into hormone test dummies. Believe me, Sir, I was one of these women who had to undergo trial after trial of birth control pills and hormone shots before finally switching doctors and obtaining my diagnostic surgery.

I am writing to you today to ask for a chance to go on the air with Meredith Vieira to bring awareness to the nation about endometriosis. I am an endometriosis and chronic health advocate and blogger. You may find my blog here: Endometriosis: The Silent Life Sentence My blog is both a very candid look into what it is like live with endometriosis and other chronic illnesses, and varying articles about endometriosis.

March is about awareness for endometriosis; will you please help bring more awareness to the women and young girls who may be watching the Today Show and are wondering why their cramps aren’t subsiding with that Pamprin; why the heating pad isn’t doing anything for their back; why they are doubled over in pain; why they are cursing the day they were born… a woman.

Sincerely,
Endochick

Today Shows Email: TODAY@nbcuni.com

***MARCH BLOGGING MADNESS FOR ENDOMETRIOSIS AWARENESS***

4 responses to “My letter to Noah Kotch @ The Today Show

  1. Thank you for all of the endo awareness promotion!!!

  2. so did you get an answer to your letter to NBC?

    • No, I haven’t. But thanks for asking. I wish more people would write! We need honest endo awareness in the media!

Leave a Reply

