Getting fit with the Wii Fit

I let my husband buy a Wii for Father’s Day. He’s been wanting one for what seems like forever, and I finally let him work it into the budget. He sat down and found the money, and on Saturday we took at trip to Toy’s-R-Us and bought the Wii. I figured if I couldn’t get my XBox 360 with Rock Band then I was spending the rest of my graduation money on the Wii Fit. Just ’cause it was Father’s Day doesn’t mean I couldn’t get me a present, right???

I LOVE that Wii Fit. It’s so much fun!!! I am not about to divuldge how much I weigh or anything like that, but even after eating Father’s Day Pizza Hut and Dair Queen I managed to lose .4 lbs. I worked out for 55 minutes this morning doing aerobics, yoga, and other balancing things because my balance is terrible! This didn’t come as a shock to me or anything. I can’t feel half of my right foot most of the time, so yeah, balance is going to a bit challenging. But, overall, i have some improving to do. I’ve given myself a goal and three months to do it in. Let’s see if I can make it. I know I can. Heck, school was tougher than this and I blew that out of the ball park!

I managed to lose 25 lbs. with just changing my diet – going organic, increasing my fruits, veggies and whole grains, not eating red meat, pork, and only eating limited chicken. I eat junk food very sparingly (yesterday doesn’t count – it was my husband’s fault). Now with exercise, maybe I can lose another 25?

10 responses to “Getting fit with the Wii Fit

  1. Love my Wii Fit. I don’t use it nearly as much in the summer as I do in the winter, but it’s great for the yoga, especially! Good luck with your goal! 🙂

    • Normally, being the summer and all, someone would just go outside and exercise. But when you have heat intolerance like I do, something like the Wii Fit really comes in handy.

  2. I love my Wii fit as well! It’s great to have simple exercises I can do that keep me in slightly better shape without eating all my energy! I can see how it would be really wonderful for you for the summer months (hopefully you have a/c in your house!)

  3. Ok, I was trying to figure out how to email you, but I couldn’t. Thanks for the blogroll add! I was just going to say that I see a psychology doctoral student for biofeedback, so it’s sliding scale. She gets great supervision from one of the top biofeedback providers/researchers in the field, and I pay next to nothing. I don’t know what the options are where you live, but if you’re interested in pursuing biofeedback, ask the provider(s) if there are interns who charge less.

  4. We got a Wii a while back. It is so fun with the fit!! I wish I used more often but the pain lately has just been so bad. Hopefully I will get back to it soon. You also have to get Mario Cart, So Fun!!! Keep up the good work!

  5. I loooooooooooooooove our WiiFit too, especially the yoga and aerobics, SO much fun! Glad you’re enjoying it! Warmest regards and pain-free vibes your way!

  6. Endochick,

    Good luck. Glad you found a fun way to do it! 🙂

    Jeanne

    P.S. I have heat intolerance too (severely) and it’s already a huge problem this year. I faint ever summer now. It’s going to be a long summer, I’m afraid.

  7. Pingback: Getting fit with the Wii Fit « Endometriosis: the silent life sentence

  8. Hey Endochick – Sry I haven’t responded before now, as you know, I’ve been quite sick the past few weeks.

    We too have the Wii Fit contraption alongside the new EA “Get Active” program kit (part of Bri’s father’s day present). I love this. We have the Wii Ski which uses the fit board as well, and a labyrinth type game that uses it. After the baby is born I completely plan on using this system regularly to try to shed the baby weight as quickly as possible.

    I find it amusing to watch Bri taking his weight with the Wii fit. Despite him exercising more, the weight keeps going up, lol. He must be having a sympathy pregnancy for me! lol.

    Hope you keep enjoying it!

    Hugs,
    Melissa

    • He could also be building muscle if he’s focusing more on strength training vs. aerobics. Just a thought. Don’t feel bad for not having commented yet. I know you’re not doing too well right now. Just focus on keeping that baby in you and growing, OK? Take care of yourself, hun! That’s all that matter right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

