I was numb ALL OVER!

*Just an update post neuro-appointment: I went in for the Depakote IV and Phenergan injection. The last time I had this combo, I had a marginal relief and so I was hopeful it would help me again. This time, wow, my pain improved beyond belief! I went in with 8 out of 1-0 and severe swooshing and left with 2 out of 10 and no swooshing as long as I didn’t exert myself. When I did swoosh, it wasn’t bad, and I still have the tight clenching, though, in my neck. The neuro is sending me to physical therapy for my neck – to a guy who works with migrainers who have neck troubles and migraine symptoms in their necks. I’m hopeful. The meds are still making me very hungry (sure my cold isn’t helping) and the meds are making me very, very sleepy! I’m heading for an early, early bed time tonight.

My complicated basilar artery migraines usually present in the typical fashion, the right side of my body (usually my arms first) goes tingly then numb. This spreads to my leg, then my face and then upwards to my head and the back of my neck. This happens quickly, within a matter of seconds. I find myself at a loss for words, and sometimes I may lose my vision in my right eye. On occasion, I have vomited. This is rare. It only lasts a few minutes and once I come around, I’m able to walk and talk and take my own meds.

Well, last night was… different. Last night I was standing in the kitchen about to take some cold/sinus meds because I’ve been sick for a week 1/2 with this sinus cold crap! My husband was talking to me when all of a sudden I could feel my blood pressure dropping and the room getting fuzzy. All I could think was oh crap. As I moved across the room to our couch the LEFT and RIGHT sides of my body start to go numb, from the legs up! I can’t even talk! I’m laying there, staring at the ceiling, and everything is going all tingling and numb from my toes up as if it’s crawling up my body at a rapid pace. It reaches both sides of my arms then both sides of my chest, then both sides of my face. Then I find myself having difficulty breathing, and I close my eyes and just concentrate on breathing as deeply as I can. It was freaking me out beyond belief – I felt literally trapped inside my body! It took a while, but eventually I slowly felt the top half of my body release and I could sit up. Somewhat. I could speak and I told my husband to get my Midrin from my purse, and while my lower half was still numb, I took the first pill. He helped me to bed after the lower half had worked itself out, but it didn’t take long for my right side to start “shorting out,” as I like to call it. After a migraine attack, and while I’m medicated myself, my right side will have brief episodes of tingling numbness – my leg is still giving me problems today.

This morning I woke up with vertigo and tinnitus – a sure sign that not all is clear. My eyes sight couldn’t focus for a good 15 minutes, and there was a shimmering in the outer corner of my left visionary field. I never get things like that with my migraines, so I’m a bit worried. I just called my neuro’s office but he’s not in today. He’s in the sleep clinic so I left a message for his nurse. They marked it as urgent, but they’ve done that before and they’ve never called back. So who knows if I’ll hear anything. I need to see someone other than my idiot GP’s Physician Assistant. All they know how to do is give me a shot of tramadol or subject me to useless CT Scans. This is not my morning, apparently. It’s just not my week, either. What is going on!

8 responses to “I was numb ALL OVER!

  1. Endochick,

    If the call to your doctor was marked urgent and you don’t get a call back within a reasonable time period, call again and be specific that you want to talk to him. Considering he works at both the neurologist’s office and the sleep clinic, it may take him a little bit to get back to you – but he knows your history and I wouldn’t hesitate to put some pressure on his office that you want to talk with HIM.

    If you call again at say mid-day, I would ask if he has a regular (scheduled) time slot for call backs and explain that you want to be sure not to miss his call. That way if they say, “yes, he usually calls patients back between 5 pm and 6 pm” you’ll have some idea of what to (maybe) expect. We are talking about doctors here… So you never know for sure. However, if you’re persistent (without being pesky) with your phone calls, you’ll have a better shot at talking with him.

    In the meantime, I would definitely get an appointment set up with him ASAP because regardless of what he says on the phone, you know he’s going to need to see you in person. Nowadays you never know how long the wait will be to get in. I would call and request an acute care appointment and stress that you’d like to be sen BY HIM as soon as possible.

    In the meantime, while it is very understandable that you are upset… it’s important for you to be as calm as possible. Stress hormones are never our friends but certainly not during something like this.

    Throw on that Beethoven you like or whatever will help you to slow your breathing down. Don’t try to be Superwoman today! Be as inactive as possible.

    Having had my share of issues lately with my blood pressure dropping like a brick and feeling like I’m going to faint (with many close calls), I have been pretty sedentary on purpose. I just saw my primary care physician Monday and I have to see her again tomorrow! This isn’t exactly easy since she’s 45 minutes away. My husband worked from home Monday so he could drive me there and use his laptop in the waiting room for work. I’m honestly not sure he’s going to be able to do that tomorrow. Sigh.

    Hang in there!!!

    Jeanne

    • Thanks Jeanne,

      I plan on calling back @ 9 if I don’t have a call back by then. I’m going to demand seeing him in the sleep clinic -he’s done this before, he can do it again – since I can’t get in with him in neurology today. Something just doesn’t feel right. I know I’ve been sick, and this hasn’t helped things. I’ve been pushing myself to make sure I can work, but I took Monday off so I could loaf around the house and “get better” and it didn’t even help. Now I feel 10 times worse!

  2. Endochick,
    I know how scary this can be. I hope your neurologist returns your call soon. It sounds to me like maybe you had a reduced amount of blood flow to a certain part of your brain due to vasodilation because of your migraine. It happened for a short period of time and then returned. Some people have tingling and numbness, some have what you are experiencing if the blood flow is reduced enough. I know it is scary, believe me. I just want to reassure you that everything is going to be okay. You should still be seen by your doctor to make sure this is actually what happened. Migraines symptoms are due to vasodilation (blood vessel swelling) and other things, but the amount of dilation and the area of dilation in the brain affects the symptoms you will have. I hope that makes sense. As Jeanne said, the important thing right now is to stay calm. There is a book that helped me and I hope it will help give you some relief as well. The title is “Heal Your Headache: The 1-2-3 Program for Taking Charge of Your Pain” by David Buchholz, M.D. of Johns Hopkins. My only goal in posting this is to help you. I had similar symptoms with my migraines, and I found great relief with the advice in this book. It is not the same old stuff. You can find reviews for it online through Amazon. Best wishes, and I hope you feel better soon.

    • Thanks Heidi,

      These symptoms, per say, are nothing new to me and I already knew about the vasodilatation. I will be doing a detailed post soon all about BAM migraines for people to better understand them. What greatly considered me with this migraine was the bilateral numbness (when I usually get only unilateral numbness)and the aura this morning with fuzzy vision.

  3. Pingback: Twitted by Endochick

  4. Endochick – how scary for you! I’m so sorry to have read this and happy that you were able to find relief at the same time. I can’t imagine living with migraines this horrible and to experience this type of symptomology. I do get horrible migraines, I believe connected with my fibro. It started in university where I would literally grab my head in pain, would be unable to see or hear, and have the most intense pain in one spot on my head for about 3 minutes. It would then ease up, but about 2-3 hours later I would be incapacitated with a migraine that to the feeling of my own heartbeat would be like a ping-pong ball throughout my brain. Other than narcs, Lyrica (it’s ironic that they use anti-epileptics on us since my son has epilepsy) helps me immensely with the headaches, and so did the trigger point injections I was going for and am considering asking someone to drive me down for more (not sure if you know but my doctor has all but physically taken my license away).

    One of the first questions my son’s neurosurgeon asked me (other than if I had seizures) was if I had migraines. Apparently there is a connection.

    Anyway my dear, please know that I am thinking of you. You have come to mean a great deal to me in the months that I have gotten to know you and I want you to have some relief big-time! Will they be considering giving you Depakote?

    BTW – Jacob takes the oral form of Depakote – Depakene (Valproic Acid). When he first started I remember it wiping him out too, he would sleep a good 12 hour stretch. The side effect did get better with time. We’re looking at possibly increasing his meds due to increased seizure activity tho 😦

    Hugs.
    Melissa

  5. autoimmunelife

    I’m glad to hear that it helped and you seem to be doing better!
    Also, good luck with the PT – I hope it helps!!! 😀

  6. Wow — this sounds an awful lot like what happened to me almost a year ago. I blogged about it at http://sickmomma.blogspot.com/2009/05/funny-thing-happened.html … I did see a neuro after that happened, but never ended up with a diagnosis or anything. I’m going to have to do some research on basilar artery migraines,and then ask my doc about them. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

