Do not go gentle into that good night – Dylan Thomas

I posted quotes from this poem over on a comment over at Chronic Healing and was inspired to share with everyone my favorite poem in it’s entirety. This has to be my favorite of all time poem, and the opening and ending stanzas must be my fave lines. If I were to ever get tatoos (and believe me that’s a HUGE if), I would get “Don’t go gentle into that good night… Rage, rage against the dying of the light,” and Carpe Diem. Carpe diem has nothing to do with this poem, and then again, it has everything to do with this poem. Enjoy.

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay, 
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
6 responses to “Do not go gentle into that good night – Dylan Thomas

  1. Endochick,

    Thanks for sharing the whole poem. 🙂

    Jeanne

  2. This poem Do not go gentle in to that good night, is indeed a lovely poem written by Dylan Thomas. I think Thomas had actually had written it on the death of his father, when Laurence Olivier died in 1989 there was a programme to celebrate his life on TV with Anthony Hopkins as host and Anthony Hopkins read out this poem by Thomas on the death of Olivier. I had never heard it before but thought it a very moving poem. Of course as a person who does like poetry and literature I had heard of Thomas who sadly dead at an early age. I had once got some tapes of under milk wood, and how Green is my valley and the narrator was Richard Burton the great welsh actor from my local library which I really enjoyed.

  3. Did Anthony Hopkins read the poem by Dylan Thomas in a movie? what year did he read it?

    Thank You
    Carrie

  4. Anthony Hopkins read Thomas’s do not go gentle into that good night when there was a programme on TV about the death of Laurence Olivier in 1989. The programme was a tribute to Olivier. That was the first time I had heard the poem. If you go onto youtube Thomas reads this poem himself and I think so does Hopkins.

Leave a Reply

