Lab Work: A Rundown

I haven’t posted my lab results. There is a reason for this.

In the latter part of October, I had some labs drawn. My IGF-1 levels were elevated which prompted my endocrinologist to run a glucose tolerance and repeat the IGF-1. The point was to see what the hormone did when I got the glucose rush. Well…

I get a call from my doctor’s nurse… the labs drew the labs wrong. Yep. That’s right. Wrong.

They drew the IGF-1 BEFORE the glucose. The doctor wants to retest in 2 months. It should be interesting. I am not happy about this at all.

5 responses to “Lab Work: A Rundown

  1. how can they be so irresponsible?

    • Your guess is as good as mine, Kika. This type of event occurs more often than you think, and in hospitals and clinics around the world! I see this situation appear is various journal articles, and often causing serious adverse events.

  2. Endochick,

    I’m so sorry. 😦

    Jeanne

  3. Ugh. How disappointing!

  4. So unprofessional! Doctors make me angry.
    I think when they make mistakes it should come out of their pay. Grrrrr! At least sincerely apologize and mean it.

Leave a Reply

