Pain

Bloated…
Stabbing…
Cramping…

We endure this pain. I am enduring this pain right now. It is all in the name of endometriosis – this silent and invisible, but ever present, disease that mercilessly attacks our bodies. It’s insidious nature, invading our abdomens with its parasitic grip. When it hurts, we are left defenseless. We are left in heaping mounds on couches that become prisons. Alone. Hurting.

It ends just to begin again, such a vicious cycle.

I am in that third ring of hell wondering when I will climb out. For the past few months, it seems each “attack” becomes worse.

I struggle through it. School, work, family, friends… all of them oblivious to the war waging itself deep inside. My smile hides the tears wanting to break forth. My zest for life masks the urge to curl into a pitiful ball. My energy… seemingly endless at times… my efforts to win against this disease.

It is chronic. I have to live with it. The parasite… this endometriosis. Yet… sometimes… when the pain becomes too much… I just feel weak. I surrender and wait for it to pass. That’s all I can do.

6 responses to “Pain

  1. I too am suffering today. You have perfectly described what I call ‘Endo Hell’.

  2. Endochick,

    I’m so sorry for your pain! At this busy time of year and with your regular (year-round) extra-busy schedule, *please* pace yourself and make time for self-care.

    I’m sending positive energy your way!!!

    Jeanne
    xoxo

  3. I couldn’t have said it better!

  4. I’m so sorry Endochick. 😦 It is terrible to feel imprisoned by endo pain. Your words describe the hell so well. I hope your pain passes soon. I’m sending you a hug.

  5. Hello EndoChick

    I am a Stage IV Aggressive Endo survivor – I have been 6 years pain free since the last surgery.

    Cheers!
    Ona

Leave a Reply

