Endometriosis Awareness Month: The Mirena Saga

This post contains subject matter of a gynecological nature. Please read at your own discretion.

Five years ago I sat in a doctor’s office contemplating a complete hysterectomy. I experienced menorrhagia and terrible dysmenorrhea. I had tried birth control pills – the 3 weeks on and 1 week off type, the three month no period packs, even continuous hormones. Nothing. No relief. I was a hormonal mess.

I then ventured into the foray of ring therapy. Oh, how I wish this was diamond ring therapy! No such luck. I tried the NuvaRing and had absolutely no relief.

The next try was this “miracle shot” – as my doctor described it. No period for 3 months! No other birth control needed! No side effects. Yeah, um, nothing is that good. The DepoProvera shot turned me into a miserable blob of mess – emotionally and physically.

I was them given the option of Lupron or a Hysterectomy. And I quickly switched doctors.

The new doctor performed a new laparoscopy. Removed implants and released extensive adhesions. And in doing so, gave me some pain relief. Enough, actually, that I didn’t want the hysterectomy anymore!

Her medical advice? The Mirena. No period for 5 years? No pain? No iron supplements for the never-ending anemia from blood loss? This seemed way to good to be true. I argued with her, “but… they told me the same thing with Depo!?!?!” Still, she urged me to try it.

And I did…

And I love it!

Yes, it has increased my ovarian cyst production. And some of these have been a pain in my side. But no periods since the insertion! My endometriosis associated pelvic pain has greatly diminished. It has varied throughout the 5 years. The roads HAS had some bumps. But overall, I’m thankful that I did it.

I will be getting it replaced next month and I’m nervous. Will it hurt? Will my period come back? It’s a gamble I need to take, though. The potential of 5 more pain-reduced, period-free years leaves me hopeful.

7 responses to “Endometriosis Awareness Month: The Mirena Saga

  1. I sure am glad that Mirena has worked for you or at least able to function better with this method of treatment. I tried Mirena and had a completely opposite reaction. EVERYTHING, and I mean EVERYTHING for me was incredibly worse. I had it removed after only-almost two years. I couldn’t take it anymore!

    I’m still waiting for that next magic pill! I have done everything – even hysterectomy and I STILL have Stage 3-4!! One day I might get some relief! Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. I’m encouraged that it has been so beneficial for you for the past 5 years.

    I have been trying Mirena for 4 months now. It has honestly been a huge struggle for me the past 3 months. Having it put in, that in itself was horrific, to the point where, despite how bad my pain has been, I refuse to have the Mirena taken out due to the excruciating pain I had, having it put in in the first place.

    That being said, I now (fingers crossed) am starting to have a decline and days of relief from my symptoms. It appears that the Mirena is finally agreeing with me (I hope).

    After reading your post, I’m encouraged to keep pushing forward. Our stories sound quite similar. Up to this point, surgery has been the only relief for me.

    I hope your second experience with Mirena is just as positive as your first!

  3. I am supposed to be having the Mirena put in whilst having another op, I keep hearing really mixed reviews about it, but my pain is so bad I can’t move and the 3 month pill thing just isn’t worth it anymore, Can someone give me some advice? I just want some more knowledge before having it put it. Thank you so much everyone, and I hope all of your symptoms settle down/ stop soon. xxx

  4. I struggled with Endo in my late teen/early 20s. After having laproscopies in 1998, 2000, and 2001, I was told I’d probably never bear children. I was fortunate enough to prove those doctors wrong when I had my first son in 2009 (after a little help with fertility drugs) and then my second son in 2010 (he was our little surprise). I then had Mirena placed. I honestly didn’t consider it as treatment for my endomoetriosis. To be quite honest, I stupidly thought I was cured by those early laproscopies because it had been so long since I’d had symptoms. I’ve now had my Mirena for 18 months and I am a MESS all of a sudden. The old endo symptoms are back- heavy painful periods lasting 7 days or more, horrible cramps, sharp pains everywhere. I am basically useless for 2 weeks of every month. I’m not sure if any of this is related to my Mirena. I’m having an ultrasound done in a few days to find out to what extent I have the endometriosis, but my doctor is sure that that’s what’s causing my pain and I’m pretty sure he’s right. I stumbled upon your website today while researching my treatment options. My doctor is considering hysterectomy, but I’m only 32 and am thinking of having more kids if I’m able so I’m looking for other options. Thank you for creating this website. I’m reading through your old blogs to see if I can find some other options.

  5. brie hernandez

    I have suffered from Endo for 2 years now and recently was admitted in the hospital for 10 days and they eventually burned it off my uterus. Its been 3 weeks and I just got Mirena put in 3 days ago and have had sucj horrific pain in my right leg and back. It’s caused me to throwup and be be ridden ever since. I called my doctor and they told me to go to the ER because this is not usual and dont think it’s related to the Mirena. But I know it is. It hurt so bad when they put it in, they had to clamp my cervix 3 times because it kept popping off. Then they had to dialate me because he couldn’t get it in. I had leg and back pain immediately. From what Ive read its common but don’t know if I can wait out the pain. I have two small kids I have to take care of and can barely walk.

    • Brie –
      Please follow the physician’s advice. Never play around with you health. While the medication in the Mirena would not be causing this problem, the device itself could be dislodged, could have perforated the uterus, or an infection could have started. All of these demand urgent medical attention. I hope all turns out well for you. Please be safe.

Leave a Reply

