Mirena Removal Time

This post contains subject matter of a gynecological nature. Please read at your own discretion.

I was scheduled to have the Mirena removed this morning and have a new one put in.

The removal – not a problem. Didn’t feel a thing, and wouldn’t have believed the clinician had she not showed me the coil! I’ve experience pap smears that were worse.

The reinsertion – Now, that’s a completely different story. As she was almost ready to insert the coil, I began blacking out due to my dysautonomia. She immediately withdrew and got me into a comfortable and stable position. It took everything out of me. I’ve slept most of the day away. And she was not able to insert a new Mirena at this time.

I’m not sure if my exhaustion today is due to the withdraw of hormones from Mirena. (I doubt this since I’ve had it 5 years and there is still residual hormones in there for a while, I would assume. But I could be wrong) Or, the dysautonomia. (More likely, I would think.)

Cramping hasn’t been bad at all. Just really, really, REALLY, tired!!! Kept drifting off today and still want to crawl into bed. Which I think I will now do.

3 responses to “Mirena Removal Time

  1. Hi there,

    My mirena is time to be takn out this mth, and now im havn these really bad pain like crampn and lower back pain, and i have chills a long with it. Is that normal if i dnt get this taken out soon?

    • I can’t comment on the reason for your symptoms, as I am not your doctor. But I do advise you see one soon. If an infection is present, they may want to clear that before removing the Mirena. IF that is the case, you may need to use backup birth control until the new one is inserted. Please see a doctor about this.

  2. Pingback: Neglectful | Endometriosis: the silent life sentence

Leave a Reply

