Thyroid Biopsy

My biopsy was today. Thank goodness for Ativan. It makes like simpler 🙂 

My loopy self was plopped onto a table, put into a gown and my neck swabbed and sterilized. Then I started to get nervous, just slightly, despite the doses of happy drugs already swimming in my system. 

The pokes for the lidocain were sharp, but not unbearable. They were akin to an ant bite, if that. A few poke and I was numbed up and ready for the serious needle action. I got to watch on the screen as the radiologist inserted the fine needle aspirator into the neck and then into the nodule. It was fascinating seeing it slide into the grayness on the ultrasound, slide around, and then, feel him pop out the needle portion and insert the part that suctions out the material. When they do this part, you’ll feel tugging. Depending on the amount of nerve bundles in the area, this may be painful. For me, the first 3 pokes and tugs weren’t bad. Some mild pressure and tugging. Nothing bad. I was able to swallow through it all.

But on the first two pokes, the pathologist said there weren’t any cells. And on the third, it was all blood. So we had to go in for more. The radiologist decided to go in for a different approach, and this meant applying direct pressure to my collar bone from his shoulder arm, and coming in via and area that wasn’t fully numbed! And he did this three times! I had sharp, stabbing pain running down my arm, into my shoulder, deep into my ear, my jaw, into my eye socket, my nose and temple. And I couldn’t flinch. I had to remain still, couldn’t even swallow because of where he was positioned! 

In the end, they were able to collect some cells. But they are still concerned the results will come back inconclusive. With the hip surgery coming up at some point this fall, I need to now if I have cancer or not. A surgeon isn’t going to touch me until I am cleared. And I just hate not knowing. And I don’t want to go through another painful procedure. 

One response to “Thyroid Biopsy

  1. The pokes for the lidocain were sharp, but not unbearable. They were akin to an ant bite, if that. A few poke and I was numbed up and ready for the serious needle action. I got to watch on the screen as the radiologist inserted the fine needle aspirator into the neck and then into the nodule. It was fascinating seeing it slide into the grayness on the ultrasound, slide around, and then, feel him pop out the needle portion and insert the part that suctions out the material. When they do this part, you’ll feel tugging. Depending on the amount of nerve bundles in the area, this may be painful. For me, the first 3 pokes and tugs weren’t bad. Some mild pressure and tugging. Nothing bad. I was able to swallow through it all.

Leave a Reply

