Pain

Unrelenting.
Unforgiving.
Spasming.

I’m sitting here, alone, and in pain. Once again in the familiar isolation only chronic illness can guarantee to those it afflicts.

If you have a chronic illness – endometriosis, dysautonomia, epilepsy, chronic fatigue, among others – you know this isolation. If you’re not familiar with the sting, you will one day know the pain it brings. When you suddenly realize no one around you – friends nor family – can relate to your pain, you’ll understand.

And here I sit waiting for my pain medication to work. I’m desperate. And alone.

12 responses to “Pain

  1. I’m so sorry!! Try to hang in there and think of something – anything – that comforts you. Hopefully your pain meds will have kicked in by now or will soon! Hugs!

  2. This post touched me.
    I’m sorry that you are having so much pain & solitude. I know exactly how you feel & have for 30+ years. No one “gets” my pain, no one even asks how I feel anymore. 😦 They are used to me keeping it to myself (like I have a choice?).
    I read your blog often & find peace in your posts. I hope you find some peace knowing that us “Endo girls” are here for you too.
    Ally

    I wrote this for CNN … maybe it can help you or someone reading this.
    http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-484025

  3. Yes, I can relate to how isolating and lonely illness is. No one asks me how I am anymore – people are either too scared for the answer or think I am getting better when I don’t complain or show it visibly.

    It’s very hard to live with endometriosis, but we dig extremely deep because we have no choice, you’ll always find a way to get past the despair.

    Be as well as you can be – much love.

  4. I don’t mean this the wrong way, but this is why your blog is one of my favorites. You convey the emotional pain that goes with the physical pain so well. I always take a backseat to my fiancé, who had a spinal fusion and is always in pain. I also feel like a second class endo patient because we aren’t trying to get pregnant right now. Friends, family, and even doctors have stopped caring. It can be beyond lonely. While I never want anyone to know what it’s like, I am glad I started my blog and subscribed to yours, and others. It gives us the opportunity to connect and support eachother when we have days like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I began blogging because I felt isolated in my pain. I had no one I could speak with about it; no one around identified with thus nightmare I lived. As I blogged, I became acquainted with other women like me – alone and in pain. That’s the beauty of the blogging thing, really. While we feel isolated, together we are not alone. Thanks for reading! I’m glad you come here and enjoy it.

  5. Hi, I too live with endo and adhesions. Here is a link to my blog if that can be encouraging for anyone. Take care, Heather
    http://learningrhythmsofgrace.wordpress.com/

  6. I used to be recommended this website by way of my cousin.

    I’m not positive whether or not this publish is written by means of him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

