Ask Endochick: Is Topomax Prescribed For Endometriosis?

Dear E, 

I’ve been a long term reader and notice you’ve taken Topamax. Does it help your endo pain? I’ve tried bc pill, Lupron (2 round… NEVER AGAIN!!!!!), and pain meds (doctor strength and from drug store). Running out of options. I know Topamax isn’t a pain med, but neither is Zoloft… And I’ve tried that, too. It help a little but I was a ZOMBIE! Thanks!

Dee Dee

Dee Dee,

Topamax is an antiepileptic medication, used for treating epilepsy, seizure disorder and migraine disorder, neuropathic pain and bipolar disorder. Doctor’s, usually neurologists, may prescribe the medication for other off label reasons. I do know at one point it was used for its weight-loss properties (it can zap your appetite and make food and drink, particularly carbonated sodas, taste bad). But the side effects didn’t make up for the pounds lost. What’s 5-10 lbs. when everything tastes stale, your feet and hands tingle, and you get a kidney stone?

I’ve read of anticonvulsants being prescribed to treat chronic pelvic conditions such as interstitial cystitis and vulvodynia; or conditions aggrivating from the pudendal nerve.

Again, though, anticonvulsants have heavy side effects. Some anticonvulsants even have Black Box warnings. Do your research and discuss medications with your doctor.

3 responses to “Ask Endochick: Is Topomax Prescribed For Endometriosis?

  1. There is evidence that, in small doses, anticonvulsants like Topamax can help with the pain from endometriosis. Commonly, though, anticonvulsants have been prescribed to treat chronic pelvic pain conditions such as interstitial cystitis and vulvodynia; or conditions aggrivating from the pudendal nerve.

  2. Luperon- worst idea… I had three rounds and I thought I might die from the side affects! It was the worst 3 -3 months but I did it to have a baby. However I would never subject myself to those hot flashes again. Sadly tho I’m still living some o the effects years later.

  3. I have endo and I used to take topamax for migraines. But I didn’t notice it helping my endo pains.

Leave a comment