Put ice on it?

If you follow me on Twitter you would already know I’m in Endo Land today. Riding high on the Endo Expressway with no apparent exit, yet desperately needing one. This has been going on all week, just at an understated level of pain; at a level I can tolerate. No meds, not even a heating pad were needed this week. But then this morning it felt as if my pelvis had been drop kicked into submission by the jaws of life or Jet Li making a new movie on it. It was way-too-tender and bloated. I should’ve seen this coming really. Ever since the bout of diarrhea (sorry t.m.i. – I know) I had last night that gave way to a very icky tummy feeling that just cramped all over. Then this morning, I wake up and the gates of the netherworld are open to greet me – “Hi, Endochick, it’s been awhile. Just thought we’d come and visit. Not like you’re busy today.”

But I AM busy today – I have work this afternoon and a party to host this evening. Of all days, I don’t need this! So I’m on Twitter and get some interesting advice from @missmotorcade. She says to put ice on it. I have never heard of doing this. Not once. She says the heat makes the endo bleed – which makes sense. I haven’t tried it because I had taken some pain meds and am now on mellow street, but plan on checking this “ice it” method out next time I have a chance.

Has anyone else “iced” their endo?? Not one of my gyno’s have ever suggested doing this. I wonder why.

15 responses to “Put ice on it?

  1. I’m so glad you wrote a post about this! Ice is AMAZING – an endo-sufferer’s bff. I hope it works for you and that you feel better soon!

  2. Yup, I use icepacks sometimes. I used to HATE heat, but now it just kind of depends. Normally I find that ice helps with the really intense (for me thats usually my ovaries feeling like they are going to explode) pain episodes that are very pinpoint in nature. Heat helps me better when its an “all over” affair. So I go back and forth, depending on the situation. Good luck, I’m sorry you’re having one of those days…

  3. Cold closes blood vessels, heat opens them up. Catch is, cold can make muscles cramp up (which makes sense if the blood vessels close–no blood means no oxygen and no oxygen means cramping), so maybe that’s why no one advises it. But hey, if you want something to stop bleeding, cold is the way to go. Mix and match, as it were.

  4. Hot shower for me. Never tried ice… the shower works sufficiently… and by sufficiently of course I mean “takes the edge off but the pain is still unbearable” 😦

  5. Ice works awesomely for me!! The numbing sensation helps alleviate much of the pain, and for me, the ice just works better overall than does heat.

  6. Pingback: Ask Endochick: Ice For Endometriosis, Really? | Endometriosis: the silent life sentence

  7. Admiring the dedication you put into your website and in depth information you present.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.

    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  8. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me breakfast because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this issue here on your web site.

  9. Can you give authorisation for us to publish this article on our Fb?

    • Brenda,
      You may quote portions of a post and attribute it to me. Make sure to link back to my blog. I do random searches for my content and will take appropriate action when my content is used inappropriately. Do not use an entire article.

  10. What’s the best way to touch base with the individual who wrote this article? I know it maybe a lot to ask, but is it possible to organize a phone session just for Five minutes?

  11. Quick question, if I quote a specific portion of this posting,
    what is the method you would want me to credit you?

  12. Voltaren rubbed all over my stomach, pelvis area and back. It seems to really work.
    My massage therapist also suggested ice saying it will help with cramps.

    These work for me!

Leave a comment